Drawing as research.

In drawing up my six tracings, I realised through this creative process exactly how detailed and complex each photographic image really is. Now, I am not really one to enjoy drawing architectural imagery, nor am I overly fussed on tracing such images, but after ganging in this ICA, I understand how such a method can help provide further insight for the designer.

14060358_1665451740440865_502883464_o

Upon tracing each selected image, I found myself naturally drawing only the essential line and shape structures that were necessary for identifying the overall image. For example, with the Baptist Tabernacle church, I drew a simple series of lines to form the pillar, but did not draw out every curvature and detail of the pattern atop of the pillar’s head. Tracing each image allows the mind to realise what details are most significant and relevant for the mind to form an identification of such a place or thing. Tracing also allows me to feel the structure; is it angular, curved, straight and so on.

14044887_1665451717107534_813196941_o

Complexity is reintroduced when one begins to layer images over one another. In my last tracing, I selected a few pieces and recreated them into one mash up. This method reintroduces complexity as now I have to think: ‘Where can this piece go?’ ‘How would it look if I aligned this with that?’ I tried to selected pieces from St Kevin’s Arcade, The Baptist Tabernacle and Merge Cafe that would fit together into a new sort of building. I was trying to explore what these three places of refuge might look like as one image. This exercise was good for a bit of brain training and deeper thinking about the structures of the places that I think are of significance in my research/project.

These are my final six tracings below, each next to their original photo…with the last mashed up image on its own.

I also wanted to explore making a digital tracing with Photoshop, just to explore the possibilities in montaging images this way. Here is my final montaged image made up:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

