Premiere Pro: Refine short film.

This morning we are revisiting our short films from last week and looking into how we may be able to refine particular details, in order to generate a video that runs through frames with smoother transitions, cuts and so on. Carsten suggested that if we had not already done so, that we should add in music, try playing around with particular filmic effects and to add at least one title ( set of text) into our films. 

The slideshow this morning revisited some basics about Premiere Pro’s tools and timeline functionalities which is very useful for those who are still learning the ins and outs of the program. Because I am already used to a lot of the functions in Premiere Pro, it is all just a refresher for me.Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 10.29.40 AM

After having watched through my short film, I would say that some further editing refinements that I could make would be to add in a title and possibly end credits (however the end credits would exceed the 30second mark), attempt to further colour correction; play around with the light and shadow…and to smooth over some of my cuts between shots. Here is a slideshow displaying my work processes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the end you can see I played around with some fonts from Adobe Typekit. I changed the colour and used motion keyframes to make the title move forward. i wanted to title to be legible yet still somewhat blurry to coincide with my idea of making a film that captures the blur of an early morning start. I tried to use the motion of the hand and fades to make the title ease out of the shots. I turned up the sound and changed some of the final shots but changing their transitions and adding a warp stabiliser to the last shot. This is my final refined film:

Leave a Reply

