Premiere Pro: short film.

After having had a two week break, we are back into the second half of semester one. Class this morning was really engaging for me as I just love photography and film. I have always been interested in learning more about these fields; growing myself in any means possible to further my knowledge and skills here. 

In TOOLS we were previously told to shoot some footage to make a 30 second video. This is what we continued with today; using Premiere Pro to edit our footage into a finished clip. I have had some prior experience using this program via my year at AUT, as well as with making certain Youtube clips in my spare time for friends and my own means. So I understood what Carsten meant by having the footage fps and resolution the same as in your project settings and how to correctly export the film. The layout of PrPro is easy for me to understand too; yet I find myself always discovering more simply through playing with the wide range of techniques in the effect controls panel.

So, here is my short film: Making Tea. As a director and editor, some deliberate choices I made were to change the colouration to black and white and to create a slight shakiness to my footage, to incorporate soft blurred light through the use of morning light and steam rising from the kettle. I also chose to use soft music and the dip to black and transitional cuts throughout the clip to create a sense of waking up/blurred movement. These decisions were all considered in order to create a clip that was about making tea upon just waking up; feeling the haziness of a fuzzy mind setting into its normal morning routine of making a nice warm cuppa.

Another enjoyment out of todays class was to learn what linear and non-linear editing is. I didn’t know about this terminology; that linear editing meant one having to watch a whole  shot of film in order to make editing judgements. It makes me a lot more thankful that now we have non-linear editing technologies that allow for us to jump into any place/time within a shot! It was also interesting to hear about the camera with light field technology and the possibilities it enables.

I loved how Carsten likened editing to that of cooking. He explained that the footage is similar to a chefs ingredients and that the film makers expectations are near and the same as a recipe. The way in which the sequences/pieces are combined together will result in the final aesthetic or taste of the overall work. Some will absolutely love it; others may not. Yet each technique was well considered and used for a reason. Carsten then provided an example of how editing is a powerful and significant process; how there deliberate choices affect the overall message portrayed. This was done through photographs of an actors face in juxtaposition with a particular object. The different objects with the mans expression created different overall stories for the viewer, such as hunger, sadness and lust. Below is a slide showing this example and also some screenshots of my working progress in PrPro.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

