Storytelling for CDF.

After having engaged in todays lesson, we moved into our workspace rooms to begin our first series of narrative drawings. I wanted to embrace the idea of mark making with unusual objects into my sequential narrative, so I went away to grab some of my brown drafting paper and then ventured around the campus for interesting surfaces to make some unique rubbings with. This was done with a 6B graphite pencil; an easy tool for dark, distinctive outcomes. I wrote which surfaces each rubbing belongs to next to it, as shown on the paper photographs below.

Another activity I immersed myself in consisted of using tools brought from home – a spatula, a screw driver and a sponge. Using indian ink, I dipped the tools and began to try out different approaches as to how they could create marks. The images for that are also shown below. I added this part into my process because i was curious as to what utensils could do with an ink medium…this then inspired me to continue such a method for my sequential narrative.

Before delving straight into the ink drawings, I quickly sketched out four thumbnails of my idea. Due to hearing that we could replicate a scene from home, I became inspired by the street that I live on; with its long tar strip and overhanging foliage.

In the first high angle shot, I have used a spatula to create a long strip of road and trees along either side. A sponge was used to gently rub the paper as well as to dab on a spotted shrub-like texture. My second shot is a close up of the tops of a tree. Once again both spatular and sponge were used. The third shot is a mid shot of a leaf caught in the wind, falling from a branch. New tools were introduced here, which is the feathered tip fan brush and leaf used to make a print. The brush created the swirling wind and small spatters of ink ‘rain’. Larger rain droplets are from my spatular. Last but not least, we have a low angle looks up at the tree, with the leaf now fallen much close to the ground. I decided to make the rain heavier to add a sense of weight, and the place the actual leaf onto the paper. I also made the trunk centre and look like the road in the first shot, in a way to symbolise the place where the leaf will soon rest. Here are my four final A3 drawings:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*All drawings made with indian ink on brown A3 card.

I found that during my processes for the narrative sequence the idea I had in mind of my street, and the story of a leaf falling from one of the trees, became much more clearer after the exploration of mark making and quick storyboarding before the final four drawings. By experimenting with particular tools and mediums, I was able to discover (and get comfortable with) new and exiting techniques that of which could be applied to my final drawings. To realise an idea through the spoken or written word can be powerful, and are certainly wonderful ways to make meaning of something. Yet to draw is to visualise such ideas; to make a deeper, more impacting meaning to its audience. Pictures – symbols, are a universal language that can break the boundaries of communication and that can be easily remembered. I always thought that there is only one way to guarantee if a book is any good. That is, when read, the words should allow for the reader to become visually transported into an imaginary world inside the mind. In turn, pictures are all around us, and are absolutely at the crux of significant things that inspire our story writing.

“A picture is worth a thousand words” – Fred R. Barnard

Leave a Reply

